The day after with the Hattori

So, yesterday was my first run in the Saucony Hattori. Great feeling shoe. Snug fit; the fit is much like a sock or an aqua sock. I was able to “squeeze” in to my normal size 10 for running shoes. During my run, I decided to go barefoot in them as they are “barefoot” shoes. I do not normally run in my running shoes barefoot but I decided to give it a try anyways. What a revelation! The fit of the shoes, the reaction from toe off was quick. These shoes were super responsive during my run. I ran about 2 miles without any issues, however, just past the 2 mile point I developed some irritation along my achilles on my left side. I had to readjust a few times but finally I had to pull the heel tab down to avoid the rubbing I was feeling. The run was generally really good. I usually do not run for any great distances. In fact, my longest run to date was about 3-4 miles. If it wasn’t for the blister on my achilles that developed I think I could have run for over 5 miles.

I think next time I will run with thin socks when using the Saucony Hattori’s. Things are looking up in my very first venture into minimalist/barefoot running. I was warned that my calves would be sore and trust me they weren’t lying. They are tight but in a good way. I think they’ll get stronger overtime. I have been running with very plush cushioning shoes and because of this I think my legs have been somewhat spoiled!

I plan to use the Hattori’s more of a tool to strengthen my feet. I love the feel of my Nimbus and will not give up on them ever.

Upward and onward!!!

Leave a Reply

