Runner’s High

I have heard about it. I have read about it. But, I have never really felt it before…until my last run yesterday. It’s called the “runner’s high”

People have desribed it as an overwhelming sense of joy while on a run. A sense of worth. A getting to know yourself. I felt all of the above on my short run. After a 12 hour day shift (I am an RN and we work long 12 hour shifts), I decided to go to the gym for a recovery run. I must admit, I did not feel like going to the gym but I really had nothing better to do, so why not? I am so glad that I decided to go because I finally experienced my very first Runners High.

I can’t really describe it but it happend around the half way point in my run. I felt sluggish for the first 5 minutes, which I usually do, but after that, I felt energized and felt alive. It may sound corny or cliche, but I knew then that making healthy life choices were worth it.

I used to play competitiive basketball at the college level. I used to hate running drills. Mainly because running drills used to be a sort of punishmment for not making the right play, or having a teammate show up late for practice. It was hell for me to run “suicides” and wind sprints. I did like track and field, and was pretty good at it. I was a sprinter, which correlated well with “Basketball Running”. But I never reallly loved running.

This past May I went for my bachelor party in Vegas with my groomsmen. They are all quite healthy and fit, and I, like many ex-athletes, had that mindset of…”I can get back in shape anytime I want” and “I’m still fit”. However, I noticed how unfit I looked after seeing a poolside picture of the “five studs”. It was more like four studs and the token porky friend. Unfortunately, I was that porky friend. After seeing that picture, I knew that I had to change something in my life.

Luckily, one of my close friends, and one of the “studs” in that very picture, is a personal trainer. He devsed a 12 week workout program for me to shape up before the big wedding day. I started off slow but as I eased in to the program, I became infatuated with working out and living a healthy life.

Back to my runners high. So, I am currently in the tail end of my sixth week of my 12 week program (the half way point). I did cardio on my off days and for warm up but lately, I have seen myself wanting to run more and more. So yesterday, that ever so elusive “Runners’s High” came into my life. Like I said, I felt alive. I really wanted to run forever. My run was only all of 30 minutes, but it felt amazing. If it wasn’t for my loving fiancee’s delicious home cooked meal that was waiting for me at home, I would have ran for much longer.

I hope that in the weeks to come I get the opportunity to feel the excitement and joy I felt yesterday more and more. I believe that, with time, I will become a runner’s aficianado.

Onward and Upward!

(image from http://www.worldhum.com/features/speakers-corner/inspiration-travel-writing-and-lesprit-frondeur-20100216/)

20120705-112130.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

