The Decision. To enter, or not to enter, that is the question.

To enter, or not to enter, that is the question.

This isn’t as big of a decision as Lebron James’ melodrama from two summers ago. And unfortunately, this decision does not come with a lucrative multi-million dollar contract. I am not even taking my talents to South Beach. I am staying right here in Vancouver.

This is a much simpler and is a more low-key decision that was only a private matter, until now. I have decided to train for my first 10 K run. I have not formally signed up for the run, but I think committing mentally is a huge step. I do not plan on starting my actual 10 k training until mid-August. The race is on October 13 here in my hometown of Vancouver. It has an entrance fee and additional donations/pledges go to a good cause (Starlight Foundation Canada). Here is the official link to the 10K race: http://www.runningroom.com/energizer-night-race/vancouver/.

As my interest in running has grown, I have began to take it more and more seriously. It began with my shoe fetish. Like my fellow Filipino, Imelda Marcos, and many Filipino’s alike, I have a weakness for shoes. The look, the smell, the feel, and the shear knowledge that my feet are being pampered makes me feel great. Before getting into running, I did my research on the “best shoes” for running. Once that phase ended, I started doing intense research about how to improve my running; I looked at proper form, proper breathing, and training schedules. Then, I started with simple mile runs and just last week I finally broke the 5 mile plateau. Now I am looking at doing a 10K. Am I crazy? This whole process happened relatively also. I only just started my mile runs back in mid-May.

Needless to say, I am excited and pretty nervous with prospect of doing this 10K. I am both hesitant and eager. Worried and confident. A real mish-mash of feelings. I am more leaning towards entering but am wary because I have never done something like this. I think part of my anxiety comes from the fact that I currently have no training partner. I have asked a friend of mine to try to train with me for the 10K but he wasn’t having it-I will nag him in the upcoming weeks. I have other co-workers and friends in mind who I think would definitely join me. In short, I really need a training buddy to do this run with. Sure, internal motivation should hold enough driving force and should able you to muster up the confidence to do anything. But, let’s be honest…did you cross the street for the first time all by yourself? No, you had a hand to hold. The first time you went out on a date, did you just wing it? No, you probably asked for advice from friends or family. Even if you have all the confidence in the world, the only reason you reached that level of confidence is because you have proper supports around you.

Don’t get me wrong, I told my fiancee about my interest in doing this 10K and she was all for it. She’s my rock and makes me who I am. Unfortunately, she has borderline arthritis in both knees and has problems with her patella so something as intense as training for a 10K is almost out of the question.

So I ask again: to enter, or not to enter? I really think I can do it and don’t know why I am even questioning my abilities to do it. It’s just a 10K, right? I think it goes back to what I said earlier about “hand-holding”. Anyways, if for some reason I chicken out, I will at the very least do the 8 week training program. But hopefully I go through with it because I believe that it will give me more confidence to continue my pursuit of fitness.

Cheers! Wish me luck!

Onward and Upward!

Leave a Reply

