Whoops! It’s been awhile

Wow! It has almost been two months since my last post. I guess I have been really neglecting my blog. In all honesty, I knew I had been doing this. That makes the past two months of non-posting sound even worse, I know. It’s not like I have not been keeping up with my exercise or anything. I have been keeping very strict on my “resolutions”. I have been doing a lot more weight training and have kept up with my running. In addition, in the last two months I have come to fall in love with the joys of cooking.

I’ve always read countless articles stating that your body is made anywhere from 70-90% in the kitchen. So many people were saying it that I thought I would give this a try. It started out with small things like pasta, jambalaya, and other simple-ish meals. I’ve swapped out white flour with whole wheat and have really increased the amount of vegetables in my diet. One very minor but very important change that I have made was to start eating breakfast. Oatmeal, eggs, fruit, yogurt, milk, orange and apple juice have all become my early morning friends. For many breakfast comes with a cup of joe. I used to be one of those people who only had a cup or two to fuel my pre lunch stomach. I found that I would be so hungry and out of energy by the afternoon and would eat anything that was near me-Dangerous! Eating breakfast has really kick started my metabolism, curbed my hunger, and has kept me sated for a much longer time. Recently I also tried switching to decaffeinated coffee. One thing I have noticed is that I get to bed earlier than when I used to drink regular coffee. My energy levels have not really dwindled but I will keep on experimenting between caffeinated and decaffeinated in the next few weeks/months to see the overall effect on my body. Three weeks in and decaf doesn’t seem too bad.

With these tweaks in my lifestyle I have come to see that I have generally more energy, better sleep, and an overall more positive attitude with everything life throws at me.

Onward and upward!

PS I am going to try to blog more haha. Should have been part of my resolutions from the start

Leave a Reply

